Catherine Doherty http://www.catherinedoherty.org Cause for Canonization Wed, 10 Sep 2014 01:04:28 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Catherine Doherty: A Bridge Between East and West http://www.catherinedoherty.org/articles/2013/11/a-bridge-between-east-and-west/ Fri, 15 Nov 2013 18:06:56 +0000 http://www.catherinedoherty.org/?p=625 Catherine: Creator of Catholic Culture http://www.catherinedoherty.org/articles/2013/04/catherine-creator-of-catholic-culture/ Tue, 30 Apr 2013 16:02:02 +0000 http://www.catherinedoherty.org/?p=615 Catherine and the Russian Religious Renaissance http://www.catherinedoherty.org/articles/2011/11/catherine-and-the-russian-religious-renaissance/ Tue, 01 Nov 2011 21:12:57 +0000 http://www.catherinedoherty.org/?p=585 This brief account of Catherine Doherty’s relationship to what has been called the Russian Religious Renaissance makes the plea that Catherine should be included among those who have brought the treasures of Russia to the West.]]> Catherine and Her Son, George http://www.catherinedoherty.org/articles/2011/05/catherine-and-her-son-george/ Thu, 19 May 2011 00:31:50 +0000 http://www.catherinedoherty.org/?p=561 Perhaps one of the most frequent problem areas in Catherine’s life that people bring up is her relationship with her son, George. It is common knowledge that George was sent to several boarding schools during the early years of his life. So people ask: How could a real, loving mother send her son to boarding schools during those formative years when he most needed a mother?]]> Catherine and Father John Callahan http://www.catherinedoherty.org/articles/2009/06/catherine-and-father-john-callahan/ Mon, 01 Jun 2009 16:00:00 +0000 http://www.poverellomedia.com/catherinedoherty.org/?p=222 Who is Father John Callahan? It is for the many who do not know who he was, or know very little about him, that I make him the subject of this newsletter. He was the first priest to join Madonna House, and was given the wisdom and courage to accept being Catherine’s spiritual director during the most momentous years of her spiritual life.]]> Catherine and Jean Vanier http://www.catherinedoherty.org/articles/2008/09/catherine-and-jean-vanier/ Mon, 01 Sep 2008 16:00:54 +0000 http://www.poverellomedia.com/catherinedoherty.org/?p=207 The gospel influence of Catherine Doherty on others is one indication of the work of the Holy Spirit in her life. Such influences are significant for the evaluation of her holiness. Although Catherine’s contacts with Jean Vanier were less frequent, you will see that he considers her and, even more, her community, to be major influences in his journey to L’Arche.]]> Catherine and Thomas Merton http://www.catherinedoherty.org/articles/2008/06/catherine-and-thomas-merton/ Sun, 01 Jun 2008 16:00:20 +0000 http://www.poverellomedia.com/catherinedoherty.org/?p=196 One aspect of Catherine Doherty’s life of Gospel intensity concerns how she inspired others to love the Lord. Such influence is another indication of the love of God present in, and working through, her. It is my conviction that she had such an influence on Thomas Merton.]]> Catherine, Fr. Paul and Mother Lurana of Graymoor http://www.catherinedoherty.org/articles/2007/09/catherine-fr-paul-and-mother-lurana-of-graymoor/ Sat, 01 Sep 2007 16:00:14 +0000 http://www.poverellomedia.com/catherinedoherty.org/?p=184 Catherine and Dorothy Day http://www.catherinedoherty.org/articles/2007/06/catherine-and-dorothy-day/ Fri, 01 Jun 2007 16:00:45 +0000 http://www.poverellomedia.com/catherinedoherty.org/?p=178 One of the great contemporary adventures that unfortunately is not narrated is the friendship of these two great women, Catherine Doherty and Dorothy Day. They were raised up by the Holy Spirit at the same historical moment in the Church of North America. They were almost mirror images of one another: totally loyal Catholics, serving the poor, conditioned by the great depression, women of prayer, dedicated to the Church, founders of movements that continue to this day.]]> The New Episcopal Appointees http://www.catherinedoherty.org/articles/2006/09/the-new-episcopal-appointees/ Fri, 01 Sep 2006 16:00:49 +0000 http://www.poverellomedia.com/catherinedoherty.org/?p=171 Five recent appointees of Bishop Richard Smith of Pembroke are to begin the next phase of research into Catherine’s life and writings. For the first time, they all came together in Combermere to meet the Bishop and Madonna House, and to meet one another, since some of them had not yet met each other. They also needed to see our archives and set their sights for future research. What is this “next phase”?]]>